The Crazy Weather

Spring still has not made a re-appearance. It is cold. It’s also sunny. The sunny days are both nice and confusing. Obviously it’s nice to have sunny days, but it makes it look a lot nicer outside than it actually is. And it has confused my three year old who thinks it’s summer now because the sun is out. She keeps asking to go to the beach. I keep telling her it’s too cold, but she just doesn’t seem to understand.

Today was family day and my husband and I wanted to do something fun with the kids. When I asked what they wanted to do, they kept naming outdoor activities. So we picked one of their suggestions and went for a walk. It was so very cold, but the kids ran around and had a great time. Their little noses and cheeks were red, but they got to burn off a lot of pent up energy. Overall, it was very enjoyable. It made me want spring to make a re-appearance even more though. The sun is nice, but I’m about done with the frigid temperatures. Well, I guess it’s not actually frigid, but it’s too cold for spring if it can snow!

The weather has just been so crazy lately! We had such a long and snowy winter, and then it warmed up and got cold again, then warmed up so much that people were outside without jackets on. The other day it looked as though slush was actually falling from the sky. It wasn’t snow, or hail, or rain. Maybe it qualified as sleet — I’m not really sure what the exact qualifications are for sleet. Or maybe freezing rain (is that the same as sleet?). It looked like when it’s raining really hard, the really big fat raindrops pouring down. Only they were fatter and fell faster and looked just like slush. I think that was happening on the first day of spring.

And now that it actually is spring, we have gone back to the big, fluffy, white snowflakes and temperatures in the 20’s and 30’s. The sun comes out during the day on some days, and starts to melt anything left on the ground, all of which then promptly freezes again, creating trails of ice that we get to walk on in the morning.

Yeah, I’m ready for spring — for leaves on the trees and the sweet smell of flowers. I’m ready to go outside without the hassle of making sure all of the kids have boots, coats, hats, and gloves. I’m ready for trips to the park and daily walks. I’m ready to enjoy being outside again.

About hnardi8

I'm happily married to my best friend, with four beautiful children. I live in the GREAT state of Michigan and love it!
This entry was posted in Random Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

