I Can Be Me Again

I feel a little lighter today. I just ended the first freelance writing job I had. I only did it for a couple of months, but it was a good experience. I learned a lot from it. First of all I learned what my time is worth. The job definitely sounded a lot better than it turned out to be. It took way more time than it was supposed to and wasn’t improving my writing at all. I wasn’t dealing with subjects that I am at all interested in. I don’t even think it would have been a good resume builder.

However, the people I dealt with were very kind and I got paid just as I was promised I would. I don’t think the work was bad or that it was a bad company. It just wasn’t for me. I kept it up for as long as I did to help out with money around the house. However, my husband just got a pretty substantial raise, and that gives me the ability to take a risk and work on writing things I want to write. I’m excited about this. I’m excited to have my time freed up again to do the things I want to do, and to write the things I want to write.

At first I thought I should keep doing the work because it paid me, and it was writing after all. Shouldn’t I write whatever I can and not be picky? That’s what I was thinking. But unless that is forced upon me for financial reasons, I don’t think it’s true. I feel like I’m wasting my time as a writer if I’m doing something that is not actually furthering my career in any way. In fact, I believe it was working against it because it took up all of my writing time.

So here I am again, free to write whatever I want and it is wonderful! That doesn’t mean I won’t take anymore freelance jobs. It just means I’ve learned that I don’t have to do them all. I don’t have to take whatever I can get. I can focus on things I enjoy, and things that will help me. I can focus on things I want to do.

My time is way too valuable to be wasting it on something I don’t enjoy and isn’t helping me in the long run.

About hnardi8

I'm happily married to my best friend, with four beautiful children. I live in the GREAT state of Michigan and love it!
This entry was posted in How's and why's of writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Can Be Me Again

  1. Lois Hoffman says:

    That sounds like a relief. Enjoy the things you like to do. No regrets!

Leave a Reply

